Upon making a turn onto Cannon Road and glimpsing at the miniature schoolhouse tucked between a serene stream and a snow-covered path, my family and I were ready to celebrate my Dad’s birthday by eating lunch at a favorite: The Schoolhouse at Cannondale. The simple name and tiny building both add character to a place that houses some of the most delicious food in the Tri-state area, in my opinion. To celebrate, we knew that brunch would be the best idea so that we could spend a night at home with a crackling fire blazing.

The Schoolhouse

The Schoolhouse 2

This was my second time going to this little eatery, the first time with my friend and his family for dinner. An outstanding meal got me hooked, and from then on, The Schoolhouse became my favorite restaurant.

The Schoolhouse (interior)

I purposefully skipped breakfast this morning, anticipating the mouth-watering food that would soon fill my early-grumbling stomach. I ordered a pappardelle with mushrooms in a creamy sauce, which would only become creamier upon breaking the perfectly poached egg that laid atop the small hill of pasta. On the side of the plate was fried kale, which I crumbled on the pasta. I honestly cannot put into words how much I enjoyed this pasta. It was creamy, had a soft crunch from the kale, and was perfected with the poached egg whose yolk coated the pasta.

Pappardelle w/ Mushrooms

My sister and my Dad both ordered the Schoolhouse Benedict, which had poached eggs, bacon, hollandaise and toast. I tasted it and I have to admit that it was the best Eggs Benedict I have ever had.

Eggs Benedict

My mom ate a tasty branzino, but I never got around to taking a picture of it. Last but not least, for the middle of the table, we shared a piece of quiche with bacon, chives and goat cheese with potato rösti and a side salad. Again, this was likely one of the tastiest quiches I have had in my short 18 years.

Bacon and Goat Cheese Quiche

Finally, for dessert, we shared a spiced bread pudding with vanilla ice cream as well as “‘Hopefully the best’ hot chocolate with homemade marshmallow.” Now, I can say for sure that this was the best hot chocolate I have laid my eyes upon and let my taste buds savor. It was muddy and soft and something I must force myself to resist until next winter.

Spiced Bread Pudding

Hot Chocolate

After this incredible meal, we took a 30 second walk over to the next-door shop, named Penny Ha’ Penny, which carries imported British goods and gifts. I picked up my favorite candy bar, a Toffee Crisp, my mom bought some goodies, and we left.

Penny Ha' Penny (interior)

I would highly recommend The Schoolhouse to anyone willing to make the trip to Wilton, Connecticut. It has fantastic food and a cozy atmosphere that makes for a very enjoyable meal.

